The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance


Prof. Deji Akinwande

"Atomic Memory: From Single Defects to RF Switches and Computing”


Wednesday, March 24, 2021 - 11:15am


Prof. Deji Akinwande, University of Texas at Austin





This presentation focuses on the discovery of memory effect in 2D atomically-thin nanomaterials towards greater scientific understanding and advanced engineering applications. Non-volatile memory devices based on 2D materials are an application of defects and is a rapidly advancing field with rich physics that can be attributed to vacancies combined with metal diffusion. In particular the talk will highlight our pioneering work on monolayer memory (atomristors) that can enable various applications including zero-power devices, non-volatile RF switches, and memristors for neuromorphic computing.


Deji Akinwande is the Temple Foundation Endowed Professor at the University of Texas at Austin. He received the PhD degree from Stanford University in 2009. His research focuses on 2D materials and nanoelectronics/technology, pioneering device innovations from lab towards applications. Prof. Akinwande has been honored with the 2018 Fulbright Specialist Award, 2017 Bessel-Humboldt Research Award, the U.S Presidential PECASE award, the inaugural Gordon Moore Inventor Fellow award, the inaugural IEEE Nano Geim and Novoselov Graphene Prize, the IEEE “Early Career Award” in Nanotechnology, the NSF CAREER award, several DoD Young Investigator awards, and was a past recipient of fellowships from the Kilby/TI, Ford Foundation, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, 3M, and Stanford DARE Initiative. His research achievements have been featured by Nature news, Time magazine, BBC, Forbes, Discover magazine, and many media outlets. He serves as an Editor for the IEEE Electron Device Letters and Nature NPJ 2D Materials and Applications. He Chairs the Gordon Research Conference on 2D materials, and the 2019 Device Research Conference (DRC), and was the 2018 chair of the Nano-device committee of IEEE IEDM Conference. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and the American Physical Society (APS).