The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance


College of Engineering Stages Eighth Annual Outstanding Alumni Awards

On Friday, October 20, the College of Engineering at the University of Massachusetts Amherst will hold its eighth annual Outstanding Alumni Awards Celebration during Homecoming Weekend. The college’s celebration will be held in the Marriott Room on the 11th floor of the Campus Center at UMass Amherst. The Homecoming Reception & Awards Celebration will begin at 4:30 p.m. During the reception, the College of Engineering will present its Outstanding Senior and Junior Alumni Awards to eight individuals who, through exemplary accomplishments, epitomize the potential of an education at the UMass Amherst College of Engineering.

These gifted alumni embody the college’s mission to educate the engineering leaders of tomorrow and help drive the economy of today.

The presentation of awards will be made by College of Engineering Dean Tim Anderson and the representatives from each of the college’s four departments: chemical engineering (ChE), civil and environmental engineering (CEE), electrical and computer engineering (ECE), and mechanical and industrial engineering (MIE).

To register for the reception, please visit the College of Engineering Homecoming page. For additional event information, please contact Amy Schrom, executive director of development, College of Engineering, University of Massachusetts Amherst, 413-545-6396,

Recipients of the College of Engineering 2017 Outstanding Senior Alumni Award have brought recognition and honor to the College of Engineering through their professional achievements, leadership, and service to the profession, university, and society. This year’s award winners are: Jon W. Dietrich ’69, ’74 MS CEE; Ellen J. Ferraro ’89, ’94 PhD ECE; Spyros Michail ’88 MS, ’91 MS MIE; Karin Rotem ’99 PhD ChE.

Recipients of the College of Engineering 2017 Outstanding Junior Alumni Award are worthy ambassadors for the UMass Amherst College of Engineering and have shown extraordinary effort and notable success in their early careers. This year the recipients are: Marnie A. Bonner ’09 MIE; Dawn T. Eriksen-Stapleton ’07 ChE; Yong Liu ’02 PhD ECE; and Heather A. Rothenberg ’03 MS, ’09 PhD CEE.

Their bios are available here.