University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance


College Welcomes Hollot as Interim Dean

Effective December 1, Professor Christopher V. Hollot, the head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department since 2007 and a UMass Amherst faculty member since 1984, has been appointed by university Provost & Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs James V. Staros as the Interim Dean, replacing Ted Djaferis, who served admirably in that role for the last three and a half years. Provost Staros announced that Dean Hollot “will serve in that capacity until the arrival of the new dean, which is currently projected in Spring 2013.” The entire College of Engineering welcomes Dean Hollot in his upgraded role and looks forward to the leadership, good cheer, and motivation that he will provide in his new position.

“As Dean Hollot takes the reins of the college in this transition, I want to recognize the excellent service of Dean Djaferis during the past three-plus years,” the provost added. “It is a special challenge to maintain the momentum of a college during an extended interim period, and that he has done so is a tribute to his leadership. Please join Dean Hollot and me in wishing Dean Djaferis the best as he embarks on a well-earned—and much delayed—sabbatical year.”

Dean Hollot is an authority on the theory and application of feedback control and has been recognized for his work by election as an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Fellow in 2004. He is also co-director of the Design and Analysis of Control Systems (DACS) research lab.

During his distinguished career at UMass Amherst, Dean Hollot has received many honors, including the Ben Dasher Award for Best Paper at the 2009 Frontiers in Education Conference; nominations for the University of Massachusetts Amherst Distinguished Teaching Award in 1987, 2003, 2004, and 2005; selection as an IEEE Fellow in 2004; the College of Engineering Outstanding Senior Faculty Award in 2004; the ECE Outstanding Faculty Teaching Award in 1987, 1998, 2001, 2002, and 2004; the National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award in 1988; and the Edward P. Curtis Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Graduate Student in 1984.

Dean Hollot earned his B.S. at West Virginia University in 1974, his M.S. at Syracuse University in 1980, and his Ph.D. at the University of Rochester in 1984. He is also a member of the IEEE Control Systems Society and has served as an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, Automatica and Systems and Control Letters. (December 2012)