The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance


ECE Emeritus Professor David Pozar Receives IEEE Field Award for Distinguished Achievement

David Pozar

David Pozar

Professor Emeritus David Pozar of the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department has received the 2020 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Antennas and Propagation Society (AP-S) Field Award for Distinguished Achievement. Pozar was selected by the AP-S “for significant contributions to the electromagnetic analysis, development, and design of microstrip phased arrays and reflectarrays, and for educational leadership and service to the electromagnetics community.”

The Field Award for Distinguished Achievement is the highest honor given by the AP-S and recognizes Pozar as a world-class researcher and teacher.

“I can’t overstate the extent that Professor Pozar’s achievements have contributed to our department’s, college’s, and university’s reputation,” says ECE Department Head Christopher Hollot. “Of my many interactions with industry and academia, folks associate our ECE department with Professor Pozar’s superior technical contributions and his celebrated textbook on Microwave Engineering (4th edition), which has helped train generations of microwave engineers worldwide.”

Pozar’s research focusses on antenna theory, analysis, and design, phased arrays, and wireless systems. 
He is widely published while garnering numerous awards, including the S. A. Schelkunoff Transactions Prize Paper Award and the H. A. Wheeler Applications Prize Paper Award from IEEE AP-S.

Pozar is an IEEE Life Fellow and has received substantial additional recognition, including the Issac Koga Gold Medal Award, the IEEE Third Millennium Medal, the Chancellor’s Medal from UMass Amherst, and the College of Engineering’s Outstanding Teacher and Outstanding Senior Faculty Awards.

Pozar earned his B.S. and M.S. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Akron and his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from The Ohio State University. (September 2020)