University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



C.V. Hollot, the head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, is a member of the interdisciplinary research team from UMass Amherst and the University of Minnesota that received a four-year, $2.4-million, National Science Foundation grant to study the increasingly complex ways in which content is delivered to users on the Internet and to invent new architectural and algorithmic mechanisms to coordinate these interactions better. Hollot’s expertise is in control theory and its applications

According to an article by the UMass Amherst News Office, the Engineering Center for Collaborative Sensing of the Atmosphere (CASA) at UMass Amherst has a four-year, $2.48-million National Science Foundation grant to study how mobile devices carried in our pockets, bags, and backpacks can serve as the next generation of weather warning systems in the coming decade.

Paul Siqueira of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department is one of 15 scientists selected by NASA to serve on the Science Definition Team of a $600-million collaborative mission between NASA and the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO). In a meeting in Toronto on September 30, NASA Administrator Charles Bolden and K. Radhakrishnan, chairman of ISRO, signed two documents to launch a NASA-ISRO satellite mission to observe Earth and establish a pathway for future joint missions to explore Mars.

Recently the Engineering Research Center for the Collaborative Adaptive Sensing of the Atmosphere (CASA Engineering Research Center) installed the fifth of eight planned weather radars in the Dallas/Fort Worth area of Texas. This newest radar was installed in Johnson County, Texas. The new radar network, which offers higher resolution data and potentially earlier warning of severe weather, is being installed by a consortium of government agencies, universities, and industry partners that was initially funded by a 10-year, $40-million grant from the National Science Foundation.

According to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), Tilman Wolf, the Associate Dean of Engineering (Graduate Studies and Operations) and a professor in our Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, has been selected among 77 of “the nation's most innovative, young engineering educators” to take part in the NAE's sixth Frontiers of Engineering Education (FOEE) symposium. Faculty members who are developing and implementing innovative educational approaches in a variety of engineering disciplines will come together for the two-and-a-half-day event, where they can share ideas, learn from research and best practices in education, and leave with a charter to bring about improvement in their home institutions.

The research on IT security of Christof Paar, adjunct professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, was the object of a recent article by Mark Anderson in the September 3 edition of IEEE Spectrum. The article, titled “Vulnerable ‘Smart’ Devices Make an Internet of Insecure Things,” explains that there are good engineering, technological, and even cultural reasons why security of the so-called “Internet of Things” is a very hard problem.

On Friday, September 26, the College of Engineering at the University of Massachusetts Amherst held its fifth annual Outstanding Alumni Awards Celebration during Homecoming Weekend. The celebration included two events. The first was a Leadership Panel featuring award winners. The second was the Outstanding Alumni Awards and Reception, involving the presentation of College of Engineering Outstanding Senior and Junior Alumni Awards to eight individuals who, through exemplary accomplishments, epitomize the potential of an education at the UMass Amherst College of Engineering.

Senior electrical engineering major Kelly Kennedy plays a key role in helping female students at the UMass Amherst College of Engineering stay the course at school, thrive in their educations, and graduate into gainful jobs. She is the president of the UMass Amherst chapter for the Society of Women Engineers (SWE). If you are a female contemplating attending the college, you ought to be aware of what Kelly, SWE, and all its activities can do for you.

The College of Engineering welcomes nine new faculty members, some of whom arrived last spring, some of whom are arriving for the fall semester, and the rest reporting in January of 2015. Boris Lau and Eric Gonzales are joining the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department. Sarah Perry and Jungwoo Lee are part of the Chemical Engineering Department. Daniel Holcomb and Jianhua Yang are new members of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. And Maureen Lynch, Chaitra Gopalappa, and Jae-Hwang Lee are joining the faculty in the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department.

Computer systems engineers Michael Zink and David Irwin of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department recently received a three-year, $390,000, National Science Foundation (NSF) grant to help create a new instrument for the national research community known as a “cloud laboratory.” Dubbed CloudLab, it will among other things allow scientists to run huge or very complex experiments on an enormous and flexible new shared network of reliable, secure, and fast computers.