University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



Four former researchers from the UMass Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department recently received a special Group Achievement Award from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) “for engineering team excellence and dedication to developing the advanced weather radar HIWRAP.” HIWRAP stands for High-altitude Imaging Wind and Rain Airborne Profiler. ECE Professor Emeritus Dan Schaubert, his former doctoral student Justin Creticos (now at MITRE), Lihua Li (former Ph.D.

On Thursday, September 19, Jon Roskill, Microsoft vice president of the Worldwide Partners Group and a 1985 alumnus of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, gave a special alumni talk for students on “Leadership, Innovation, and Prima Donnas.” The subtitle was “What UMass Can’t Prepare You for in the Real World.” The talk took place from 2:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. in the Computer Science Building, room 150/151. During his lecture, the occasionally irreverent Roskill gave his take on the highs, lows, and surprises ahead for graduates in this new era.

Graduate student Tariq Ahmad of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, whose advisor is ECE Professor Maciej J. Ciesielski (pictured), received a full scholarship to attend a week-long NetFPGA summer camp/workshop, July 29 to August 2, organized by the NetFPGA Group at Stanford University. During the workshop, the project Ahmad created there, entitled "Architectural Exploration of AES-128 in NetFPGA," was awarded first place on Friday August 2nd at a local reception. The work will be added to NetFPGA Open Source project repository for others to work and enhance.

Three local K-12 teachers have participated this summer in the Research Experience for Teachers (RET) while working with the Engineering Research Center for Collaborative Adaptive Sensing of the Atmosphere (CASA) in mutually beneficial projects. In general, the RET program is designed as an opportunity for K-12 teachers to work side by side with CASA faculty and graduate students contributing significantly to a research project while creating material to benefit their classrooms.

Do-Hoon Kwon of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department has published a book with Springer Publishers entitled Transformation Electromagnetics and Metamaterials: Fundamental Principles and Applications. Kwon edited the book with Douglas H. Werner.

Doctoral students Cheryl Ann Nicholas of the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE) Department and Jordon D. Bosse from the College of Nursing have been named the 2013-2014 Hluchyj Fellows at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. The Hluchyj Graduate Fellowship was started by Dr. Michael Hluchyj, a 1979 alumnus of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, and his wife, Theresa “Terry” Hluchyj, a 1977 alumna from the College of Nursing.

Alumnus Greg Strelzoff, who earned his B.S. in Computer Systems Engineering from the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, is consumed by two high-profile occupations that each depend on speed, precision, and high performance. Strelzoff is the CEO of ZeroLag, a Los Angeles based dedicated hosting company that allows its customers to enjoy full leverage of all their server resources, including customization of storage, memory, or networking configurations to suit their needs. In addition to running ZeroLag, Strelzoff is also a racecar driver.

On June 25, about 22 electrical and computer engineering alumni living in the San Diego area gathered at the Morehouse Campus of Qualcomm to catch up on old times, network, share life stories, and enjoy each other’s company. The hosts for the event were Roberto Padovani ’83 MS, ’85 PhD, the executive vice president and a fellow of Qualcomm, and Christopher Hollot, head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. The conversation and good fellowship were enhanced by a tasty selection of wine, beer, and hors d’oeuvres, as well as a fine selection of old friends reuniting.

The College of Engineering welcomes five new faculty members for the fall semester of 2013: Boris Lau and Gouping (Gregg) Zhang, who will join the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department; Christos Dimitrakopoulos, joining the Chemical Engineering Department; Zlatan Aksamija, who will be a member of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department; and Stephen Nonnenmann, in the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department.

In 2001, electrical enginineering alumnus James M. Smith, who was at that time the CEO of the EDO Corporation, established the James M. Smith ’67 Scholarship Fund at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Today, the fund, established to support excellent engineering students in need of financial assistance, has helped 206 Smith Scholars earn their degrees from the College of Engineering. In addition, Smith has sponsored numerous summer research projects for undergraduates seeking enrichment beyond the academic year.