麻省大学阿默斯特分校 ECE 在职理学硕士学位常见问题解答

课程基本信息

  1. 问:什么是美国麻省大学阿默斯特分校?

  2. 答:美国麻省大学阿默斯特分校是全国顶尖公立大学之一,在超过 700 所美国公立四年制学院及大学中,它排在第 27 位。美国麻省大学阿默斯特分校是马萨诸塞州一流的公立高等教育机构,对公共的利益有深远的变革性影响。成立于 1863 年,该校是新英格兰最大型的公立研究型大学,以其学术、研究和社区外联课程的卓越与广度闻名于世。
  3. 美国麻省大学阿默斯特分校有众多值得引以为傲的点,包括位列全美前 100 所顶级大学,及其工程课程也排在前 60 名以内。
  1. 问:什么是 ECE 在职理学硕士学位?

  2. 答:电气和计算机工程理学硕士学位的课程为期 16 个月,专门为想攻读高级学位,且同时获得专业体验的在职工程师或刚毕业的学生量身定制。授课几乎全部由我们验证过的全球课程合作方提供,学生将在美国麻省大学阿默斯特分校完成为期 3 周的夏季居住体验。
  1. 问:ECE 在职理学硕士学位选项经过认证吗?

  2. 答:是的,这个理学硕士学位课程,以及大学本身都经过新英格兰学校与学院协会 (NEASC) 的高等教育审议委员会 (CIHE) 的认证。
  1. 问:我的文凭和成绩单上都有什么信息?

  2. 答:在毕业后,您的美国麻省大学阿默斯特分校文凭和成绩单上会与其他完成在校理学硕士学位课程的学生一样写明“电气和计算机工程理学硕士”。
  1. 问:课程能为我毕业后的职业生涯带来哪些好处?

  2. 答:电气和计算机工程理学硕士学位课程会为学生提供在重要领域内建立新的技术及解决新的计算机工程问题所需的工具,此类领域包括,嵌入式系统、信息安全、云计算,以及物联网 (IoT) 等。通过在职学位课程,学生将专享在大型技术公司实习的特别机会,并在毕业时拥有在职业生涯中大展身手所需的必要技能和技术知识。
  1. 问:ECE 在职理学硕士学位课程会为学生提供实习或就业机会吗?

  2. 答:会。符合条件的学生将在课程期间获得保障就业和实习的机会。通过与大型国际公司(如,GE、Apple,和 Microsoft 等)签订协议,学生将享有实习和就业机会。在在职学位课程员工的协助下,ECE 理学硕士课程的学生可以申请在自己心仪的公司实习或就业,而实际的安排由每一家聘用公司依据职位空缺情况自行确定。学生在课程中的体验让他们在继续拓展职业生涯时具有无可比拟的专业优势。
  1. 问:为什么我应该注册就读本课程,而不是直接求职或继续当前的职业规划?

  2. 答:这个创新性课程让您在自己的领域内找到或继续工作,与此同时,您也可以在 16 个月内获得精英硕士学位。

学术课程

  1. 问:在 ECE 理学硕士课程期间,我将就读哪些科目?

  2.  答:你可以在此处查看 ECE 科目表示例。
  1. 问:授课将使用什么语言?

  2. 答:授课将使用英语,入读本课程要求学生熟练掌握英语。学生将获得双语行政支持。
  1. 问:就读 ECE 在职理学硕士学位课程的学生可以同时参加全职或兼职工作吗?

  2. 答:我们的课程科目都在夜间授课,以方便全职、兼职,或实习的学生;不过,入读本课程不需要有任何专业工作经历。
  1. 问:每个星期的科目作业需要花多长时间?

  2. 答:您要为每周的每一门科目总共安排十到十五个小时的课内和课外时间。
  1. 问:通常情况下,一个班的人数是多少?

  2. 答:每个班的学生人数大约是 25 人。
  1. 问:如果是麻省大学阿默斯特分校的教授授课,我怎么在自己的国家上课?

  2. 答:刚开始的 2017 年秋季学期为期 16 个月,您可以在经过我们认证过的课程合作方上海交通大学参加由麻省大学阿默斯特分校的教授在美国传授的实时讲座。上海交通大学本身也是中国最知名的大学院校之一。在中国的课程由麻省大学教员以技术辅助式的实时讲座形式进行授课。在 2018 年的夏季,学生将有机会与麻省大学校区和教员面对面接触,获得为期 3 周的夏季住校体验。
  1. 问:我能够在什么地方参加实时视频授课?

  2. 答:实时授课每周两次在夜间进行,地点是我们的课程合作方—上海交通大学的徐汇校区内,不得缺勤。因此,学生应住在合理的距离内才能参加课程授课。
  1. 问:我能够自选科目并自行安排上课时间吗?

  2. 答:这是一个固定课程。学生可以在最后一个学期从两个科目方案中选择其一。另外,学生还能选择自己的项目课题,并灵活安排时间与项目团队合作。
  1. 问:就读本学位课程内的学生要遵守美国麻省大学阿默斯特分校制定的学术诚信和学术失范政策吗?

  2.  答:是的。被 ECE 在职理学硕士学位课程录取的学生必须深刻了解,完成 ECE 理学硕士学位不仅要求学生拥有令人满意的出勤率并顺利满足具体学业进度标准,他们还要遵守麻省大学学术诚信政策
  1. 问:在就读课程期间,我需要完成哪种类型的科目作业和项目?

  2. 答:科目作业和项目要求会在详细的教学大纲中列明,被课程录取的学生可以查看该大纲。一般来说,内容课程将围绕每周两次的课堂展开,其中包括讲座、小组合作、讨论和学生报告等。大部分的科目会要求课前作业,如阅读和调查研究,以及课后作业,如论文和应用报告。在修完两门项目科目后,学生要继续完成单个最后项目,也就是毕业项目。在这个项目中,学生要以团队合作的形式运用嵌入式系统、传感器,以及软件解决现实生活中与所选专业相关的问题。
  1. 问:在就读课程期间,学生还有其他机会与麻省大学的教职人员互动吗?

  2. 答:在本国的每个学期末,学生要参加在上海举办的研讨会,并开展学术和专业互动。计划的活动包括,来宾讲座、与企业赞助人和校友建立人脉,还有机会与主办大学互动。麻省大学教职人员将出差来出席,每场讨论会还有围绕学生毕业项目的活动。

课程费用和特色

  1. 问:ECE 在职理学硕士学位课程的总费用为多少?

  2. 答:课程的总费用为 45,000 美元,其中包括 3 周在美国麻省大学阿默斯特分校的住宿费。请记得准备更多的预算经费,以支付在美国居住期间 3 周的个人花费,以及课本和机票费用。查看在职理学硕士学位选项与传统全日制理学硕士的区别。
  1. 问:在职学位美国夏季学期需要多少旅费和餐宿费?

  2. 答:夏季学期住在美国麻省大学阿默斯特分校的总费用是 5,000 美元,其中包括餐宿费、医疗保险和大学其他费用等。学生还应准备好旅费、课本,以及个人消费的经费。
  1. 问:我可以在哪里找到付款时间安排?

  2. 答:请参阅我们的《条款与条件》。付款时间安排:第 5 条;退款政策:第 7 条
  1. 问:用什么付款方式?

  2. 答:学生可以通过 Peer Transfer 的 Flywire 进行转账。付款说明及详细信息将在录取时提供。
  1. 问:我应该什么时候计划开始在上海交通大学上课?

  2. 答:您应该计划在 2017 年 8 月 24 日抵达校园并参加校内迎新活动。请参阅新生欢迎册,以了解迎新活动的全部安排。开学时间为 2017 年 8 月 28 日。
  1. 问:在麻省大学阿默斯特分校期间,我能够选择哪些餐饮方案?

  2. 答: 《The Princeton Review》将美国麻省大学阿默斯特分校的学生餐饮方案评为全美最佳!在整个夏天,学生有各种餐饮方案可供选择。如需了解完整列表,请访问麻省大学餐饮网站
  1. 问:课程会组织团体活动吗?

  2. 答:会。在美国麻省大学阿默斯特分校的夏季学期,学生可以参加每周除课堂学习外的多个活动,以及欢迎他们来到美国、新英格兰、马萨诸塞州和阿默斯特的活动。学生返回中国以继续实时讲座部分的学位课程时,他们还有多个机会参加各种当地活动,如企业赞助的活动和社交人脉活动等。
  1. 问:大学是否提供当地交通服务?

  2. 答:学生可以乘坐麻省大学的 PVTA 公交线以享受当地和校园的交通服务。如需其他交通信息,请咨询 UMass 交通服务办公室

录取

  1. 问:如何申请就读 ECE 在职理学硕士学位课程?

  2. 答:填写并提交您的在线申请表或提交填写完毕的 PDF 申请表和支持材料至 eceapply@umass.edu
  1. 问:申请需要哪些文件?

  2. 答:请准备好提交以下文件:
    • 经认证的所有成绩单副本
    • 经认证的学位证书副本(如果您已毕业)
    • 英语水平考试分数的正式副本(如果曾在美国、加拿大、英国或澳大利亚完成学业可要求豁免)
    • 雇主或学术单位的推荐信

如被课程录取,您可能要出示其他文件。如需更多信息,请查看本页面

  1. 问:ECE 在职理学硕士学位课程有哪些入学要求?

  2. 答:课程录取采用优胜劣汰。学生必须至少满足雅思 6.5 分或同等水平的最低英语要求,而且应有扎实的本科工程课程背景。
  1. 问:无工程背景的申请学生有机会入读 ECE 在职理学硕士学位课程吗?

  2. 答:职业和/或学术性的工程背景是必须条件。无相关工程背景的学生有机会被录取,但要求通过其他教职人员的审核并必须满足所有其他入学要求,
  1. 问:我目前是美国的本科生。我可以转移我的 F1 签证吗?

  2. 答:可以。如果被课程录取,您将被要求提供以下文件以开始 I-20 表格转移流程:
    • 财力证明表格
    • I-20 申请表
    • 资产报告(前六个月内开具)
    • 麻省大学转学推荐表

University of Massachusetts Amherst .

Search Google Appliance


Links

UMass Amherst M.S. ECE Field Degree FAQ

General Program Information

  1. Q: What is UMass Amherst?:

  2. A: The University of Massachusetts Amherst is one of the nation’s top public universities and ranks number 27 in a field of more than 700 public, four-year colleges and universities in the United States. UMass Amherst is the flagship public higher education campus in Massachusetts and makes a profound, transformative impact to the common good. Founded in 1863, it is the largest public research university in New England, distinguished by the excellence and breadth of its academic, research and community outreach programs.
  3. UMass Amherst has many points of pride, including being ranked among Top 100 National Universities and Top 60 Engineering programs.
  1. Q: What is the M.S. ECE Field Degree?

  2. A: The Master’s of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering degree is an 18-month program designed for working professionals or recent graduates who want to pursue an advanced degree and professional experience at the same time. Classes are delivered virtually at our validated global delivery partners, with a 7-week, intensive summer semester on the UMass Amherst campus.
  1. Q: Is the M.S. ECE Field Degree option accredited?

  2. A: Yes, this M.S. degree program, as well as the University itself, are accredited by the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (CIHE) of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC).
  1. Q: What will my diploma and transcript say?

  2. A: When you graduate, your diploma and transcript from UMass Amherst will say “Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering,” the same as for students who complete the residential M.S. option.
  1. Q: How will the program prepare me for a career after graduation?

  2. A: The M.S. in Electrical & Computer Engineering degree program gives students the tools they need to create new technologies and solve new computer engineering problems in important fields such as embedded systems, information security, cloud computing, and the Internet of Things (IoT). Through the Field Degree program, students have unique and exclusive opportunities to intern for leading technology companies and graduate with the necessary skills and technical knowledge needed to thrive in their careers.
  1. Q: Does the M.S. ECE Field Degree program offer internship or job opportunities for students?

  2. A: Yes, qualified students will have opportunities to secure jobs and internships while in the program. Through agreements with leading international employers such as GE, Apple, and Microsoft, students have exclusive access to internship and job opportunities. M.S. ECE students apply to the internship(s) or job(s) of their choice with the assistance of Field Degree staff, and placement is determined by each employer’s discretion and availability. Students’ experiences in the program give them an unparalleled professional advantage as they continue to build their careers.
  1. Q: Why should I enroll in this program rather than apply for a job or simply continue on my current professional path?

  2. A: This innovative program allows you to both find or continue a job in your field while also obtaining an elite master’s degree within 18 months.

Academic Program

  1. Q: What courses will I take during the M.S. ECE Program?

  2.  A: A sample of the ECE course curriculum can be viewed here.
  1. Q: What is the language of instruction?

  2. A: The language of instruction is English and entry into the program requires proficiency in English. Students have access to bilingual administrative support.
  1. Q: Does the M.S. ECE Field Degree program allow students to be employed full-time or part-time?

  2. A: The program courses are held in the evenings to accommodate students with full-time jobs, part-time jobs, or internships; however, no professional experience is required for admission to the program.
  1. Q: How much time will I spend on coursework every week?

  2. A: You should plan a total of ten to fifteen hours of work each week per course, including time spent both in as well as out of the classroom.
  1. Q: What is the typical class size?

  2. A: The number of students per classroom is approximately 25.
  1. Q: How will I attend classes in my home country if they are offered by UMass Amherst?

  2. A: The initial 16-month program will begin in the fall of 2017 with live lectures from UMass Amherst hosted locally by our validated delivery partner, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, one of the most distinguished universities in China. China-based classes are taught by UMass faculty as technology-enabled live lectures. Students will be able to visit the UMass campus and faculty during a 3-week summer residential experience in the Summer of 2018.
  1. Q: Where can I attend live video class lectures?

  2. A: Live classroom sessions will be held twice weekly on evenings at our delivery partner, Shanghai Jiao Tong University’s Xuhui campus, and attendance is required. Therefore, students should live within reasonable proximity in order to participate in the program.
  1. Q: Will I have an opportunity to select courses and set my own schedule?

  2. A: This is a set program. Students may choose from two course options in the final semester. The project course also allows students to choose their own project topic, and work with their project team according to a flexible schedule.
  1. Q: Does UMass Amherst have an academic integrity and academic misconduct policy that will apply to students in this degree program?

  2.  A: Yes. Students are accepted to the M.S. ECE Field Degree program with the strict understanding that completion of the M.S. ECE requires not only satisfactory attendance and successful attainment of specified progression criteria, but also adherence to the UMass Academic Honesty Policy.
  1. Q: What type of coursework and projects will I be expected to complete during the program?

  2. A: Coursework and project requirements are described in detailed course syllabi, which will be available to students who are accepted into the program. In general, the content courses revolve around twice-weekly class sessions that include lectures, group work, discussions, and student presentations. Pre-work outside of class, such as readings and research, and post-work such as papers and application assignments, are required for most class sessions. Through two project-based courses, students work on and complete a single final project, called the Capstone Project.  For this project, students work in small teams and use an embedded system, sensors, and software to solve a real-world problem of their own choosing.
  1. Q: Are there other opportunities for students to engage with UMass faculty throughout the program?

  2. A: At the end of each term, students participate in a symposium hosted in Shanghai that engages them both academically and professionally. Activities planned include guest lectures, networking events with corporate sponsors and alumni, and opportunities to engage with the host university. UMass faculty will travel to participate, and each symposium will include an activity focused on the students’ Capstone Project.

Program Cost and Features

  1. Q: What is the total cost of the M.S. ECE Field Degree program?

  2. A: The total cost for the program is $45,000 USD, which includes the 3-week residency at UMass Amherst. Please remember to budget additional funds for personal expenditures during your 3-week residency in the US, as well as costs for books and airfare. Check out how the cost of the Field Degree M.S. option compares to the cost of the traditional, full-residency M.S. option.
  1. Q: What is the cost of travel and accommodation for the Field Degree summer residency?

  2. A: The total cost for the summer residency at UMass Amherst is $5,000 USD and includes accommodation, health insurance, and university fees. Students should also budget for travel, textbooks, and personal costs.
  1. Q:Where can I find the payment schedule?

  2. A: Please refer to our Terms & Conditions. Payment Schedule: Section 5, Refund Policy: Section 7
  1. Q: What are my payment options?

  2. A: Students pay via Flywire by Peer Transfer. Payment instructions and details will be provided during the admissions process.
  1. Q: When should I plan to start attending Shanghai Jiao Tong University?

  2. A: Plan to arrive on August 24, 2017 for on-campus orientation. Refer to your welcome packet for a complete schedule of orientation activities. Classes begin on August 28, 2017.
  1. Q: What dining options are available for when I visit on campus at UMass Amherst?

  2. A: The Princeton Review ranks UMass Amherst’s student dining options as the best in the country! Numerous dining options are available during the summer. For a full list, visit the UMass Dining website.
  1. Q: Does the program offer organized group activities?

  2. A: Yes. During the summer session at UMass Amherst, students have several activities per week that supplement their in-classroom learning, as well as extracurricular activities that welcome them to Amherst, Massachusetts, New England, and the United States. When students return to China for the live-lecture portion of the degree, they will have several opportunities to participate in a variety of local activities such as corporate-sponsored activites and networking events.
  1. Q: Does the university offer local transportation services?

  2. A: Local and campus transportation is available through UMass’s PVTA bus line. Additional transportation information is available through UMass’s Office of Transportation Services.

Admissions

  1. Q: How can I apply to the M.S. ECE Field Degree program?

  2. A: Complete and submit your online application at or submit a completed PDF application and supporting materials to eceapply@umass.edu.
  1. Q: What documents are required with my application?

  2. A: Be prepared to submit the following documents:
    • Certified copies of all academic transcripts
    • Certified copy of degree certificate (if you have already graduated)
    • Official copy of English proficiency score (you may qualify for a waiver if you completed your studies in the US, Canada, UK or Australia)
    • Letter of recommendation from employer or academic source

Additional documents may be requested if you are accepted into the program. For more information see this page.

  1. Q: What are the admissions requirements for the M.S. ECE Field Degree program?

  2. A: Admission to the program is competitive. Students must meet a minimum English-language proficiency requirement of IELTS 6.5 or equivalent and should have a strong background in an undergraduate Engineering program.
  1. Q: Will applicants with non-Engineering backgrounds be considered for the M.S. ECE Field Degree program?

  2. A:  Professional and/or academic background in Engineering is required. Students with non-related Engineering backgrounds may be considered for admission but will require additional faculty review and must meet all additional admission requirements.
  1. Q: I’m currently an undergraduate student in the US. Can I transfer my F1 visa status?

  2. A: Yes. If accepted to the program, you will be asked to supply the following documents to initiate a transfer of your Form I-20:
    • Certificate of Finance Form
    • I-20 Request Form
    • Financial Statement (issued within the previous six months)
    • UMass Transfer Recommendation Form