The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance


ECE Grad Student Wins $6,000 IEEE Fellowship

Seyedeh-Shirin  Montazeri


Doctoral student Seyedeh-Shirin Montazeri of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department has been awarded a fellowship of $6,000 from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Microwave Theory and Techniques (MTT-S) Society Graduate Fellowship program. Ms. Montazeri’s Ph.D. advisor is Professor Joseph Bardin.

As Professor Bardin said about Montazeri, “Her research is focused on ultra-low-power cryogenic low-noise amplifiers, and she has recently reported an order-of-magnitude improvement in DC power consumption over the previous state of the art. Furthermore, she has worked with collaborators at the Harvard Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics to show that these power saving can be leveraged to implement more scalable cryogenically cooled THz receiver systems, which are desired for Radio Astronomy applications.”

The IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society Graduate Fellowship program was created to support graduate research studies in Microwave Engineering. Requirements include high academic achievement in engineering or physics curriculum; demonstration of significant ability to perform independent research; and demonstration of previous excellence in academics through awards and prizes.

The award consists of:

  1. A certificate of recognition. There is a Student Awards Luncheon held at every IMS conference to recognize student contributions to the MTT-S Society. Montazeri and her mentor can attend the IMS 2016 Student’s Luncheon in San Francisco on Thursday, May 26, to receive her certificate.
  2. A fellowship in the amount of $6,000 USD.
  3. A travel reimbursement (up to a maximum of $1,000 USD) to attend IMS 2016. A limited number of travel supplements are also available upon request to the Fellowship Chair to attend the conference.
  4. Awardee Information, including a brief bio and photo, to be published in a Microwave Magazine article announcing the fellowship winners.

The IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society is the largest technical professional society for the promotion of the theory and applications of RF, microwave, millimeter-wave, and terahertz technologies. The MTT-S has over 11,000 worldwide professional members in academia, industry, and government laboratories. It was founded in 1952 and has over 170 local chapters.  MTT-S is one of 45 technical societies and councils of the IEEE. (March 2016)